Canary in the Coal Mine
Buy the Hardcover at:
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble
Amazon

Also Available:
eBook
isbn: 9780823427710
April 12, 2013 | $16.95

Canary in the Coal Mine

by Madelyn Rosenberg
Hardcover | Pages: 192
Size: 5-1/2 X 8-1/4 | USD: $16.95
ISBN: 9780823426003
Publication Date: May 1, 2013
Age: 8-12 | Guided Reading Level: Z+
Themes: Animals/Fiction, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: A,K,LMC

About the Book

In the tradition of E.B. White and George Selden, Madelyn Rosenberg has written an extraordinary novel starring unforgettable animals in an incredibly imaginative society.

BONUS MATERIALS
Read an Excerpt
Read an Excerpt

Canary in the Coal Mine

Educator's Guide
Educator's Guide

CANARY IN THE COAL MINE

Educator’s guide featuring classroom activities and suggestions for further exploration.
★★★THE REVIEWS ARE IN!★★★

“A relevant read-aloud for upper elementary or middle school, the book could spark discussion about the Depression, stereotypes, and labor unions. Bitty is a sweet character who will appeal to both boys and girls, and his story is adventurous enough to keep readers’ interest.”
—Recommended, Library Media Collection